Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Trouble with the tutorials

[eluser]The Beginner[/eluser]
Hi, My name is Del and I am new to PHP and Web Development so some of this stuff is out of my area of anything. I started with installing xamp as a php enabled web server. It seams to work well. I installed CI and started building the tutorial. The first one went exactly as in the video showed with no problems. The second was an entirely different story. The first issue I had was that the scaffolding screen would not add new records to the entries table. It would however display records if I entered them in MySQL Query Browser. It would not let me edit those records or add more, it simply went to a 404 page. I decided to continue with the comments part and I got as far as the echo test and it again went to a 404 page. I cnecked and rechecked to make sure I keyed everything in correctly. I am sure it may be something simple, (it usually is, lol). anyway if anyone has any suggestions as to why i am having trouble (other than the my ignorance, lol) I would really appreciate it.
Thanks,
Del

[eluser]überfuzz[/eluser]
404 is trowed if theres no site under the qurrent url. Check if you've got a match between the url and the controller.

url
www.site.com/currentcontroller.php

controller
class Currentcontroller etc... //first letter is capital.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Hi Del, and welcome to the CI forums.

I wouldn't fret too much over some tutorials not working precisely to plan. Sure, it's good to work out why - satisfaction as well as the learning experience - but you might just want to head over to a different tutorial - attack the same problem from a different angle, as it were.