Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Project development template

[eluser]TornUp[/eluser]
Hi all,

Let me give you some background, I’m a System Engineer/Network admin for a company of around about 150 users (mainly sales people), because our company only have a 2 person IT Department, we get roped into everything and anything IT related, including the development of new system, being someone who enjoys messing about with CI, I took it on as me responsibility to develop a new system that simply took an excel spreadsheet, cleaned it, and imported it into Mysql for searching. The problem I ran into, was the fact this spreadsheet had allot of data(reaching near the capabilities of excel itself at nearly 50,000 rows, what isn't a problem for mysql! but was a problem for myself, who had to develop a system to import it into mysql!(the searching bit is easy!!)

After realising that a project intended to be developed in house was too big, iv decided to outsource it to a development company.

My problem lies in converting my notes and also documenting features the end user (in my case, the company’s sales manager) wishes to have in this system, into a format that I am able to pass to the development company.

This is where your help comes in...

What information do you require from a client when building their web applications? And do you use/know of any "template" that is pretty much "fill in the gaps"?

I look forward to hearing your replies Smile

Tom kirby.

this is where your help comes in..

what infomation do you require from a client when building their web applications? and do you use/know of any "template" that is pretty much "fill in the gaps"?

I look forward to hearing your replys Smile

Tom kirby.

[eluser]renownedmedia[/eluser]
You'll of course want to give them a chunk of the spreadsheet, like the first hundred entries maybbe. Also give them the format of the output you would like, e.g. the mysql table(s) schema.