Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Running on Java with Oracle, is this possible?

[eluser]dpdp[/eluser]
Hi,

A client I'm working for had us start developing an app with codeigniter on a LAMP environment. Recently we were told though that we are no longer able to deploy to a LAMP environment and are going to need to accomodate for a Java/Oracle server setup.
Now, I've tried researching the viability of this, but I have no knowledge of Java or Oracle whatsoever.

As of right now our progress on the application is minimal so I'm not concerned about the conversion from mysql to oracle or whatever needs to happen there.

But I thought I would check here first to see if anyone knows if this is even a viable option.
Here are the server specs we are requested to deploy to:

- Web Server : iPlanet 6.1 sp7
- Web Application Server : WebLogic 9.2.1.0
- Java : JDK1.5
- Oracle : 9i

If anyone has any light to shed on this, I would appreciate your help a thousand times over.

[eluser]imn.codeartist[/eluser]
no idea mate, probably you can ask in the java communities. There you can get lots of help.

Here is the link for you.

http://developers.sun.com/community/

[eluser]Krzemo[/eluser]
I dont get it...
Is your question about possiblity to run CI code on server specified above?
If you can make PHP runing on it - then yes:
http://pl.php.net/manual/en/install.unix.sun.php

But I guess client requirement and intention is to fully move to Java (Spring, Struts, Hibernate) and say goodbye PHP.

PS
Oracle is sooo much more reliable to MySQL when it comes to complicated tasks (i.e. aggregation/calculation queries).

[eluser]dpdp[/eluser]
Hey guys,
@dixcoder: Yeah, I looked around there, but their forum is ridiculously huge and my knowledge of java is zero so I didn't know where to even post.