Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How to convert a site into CI framework

[eluser]benners[/eluser]
I'm new to CodeIgniter and MVC approach but keen to use it for a old, badly coded site I'm just about to work on.

Is it practical to gradually convert a site into the CodeIgniter framework by rebuilding certain pages and functionality with CodeIgniter or does it need to be a complete re-build? If it is possible how would I go about this?

Thanks for reading.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Hi benners and welcome to the CI forums.

My gut feel is that if you're not hugely familiar with CI already, or at least with a comparable framework, that you'd be better off starting the project from scratch, pulling in small partials of code when and where you need to, but definitely approaching it as though it was a new project.

I think the trying to continuously integrate a half/half thing would just cause more grief than it'd be worth.

Of course, a lot comes down to your skill and also just how badly the old site was designed and coded. If it's really quite bad, and you're also not hugely familiar with the ins and outs of it as well, I'd say that is even more encouragement to basically start from scratch.

[eluser]benners[/eluser]
Thanks for your comments Jedd.

I thought that might be the sort of advice I'd get. Unfortunately it doesn't look like I will have the luxury of a new build due to the urgency of some of the fixes, budget and size of the site.

Is there any more info you can give me or relevant Wiki on how to go about converting a site?

[eluser]Phil Sturgeon[/eluser]
If this is a large site and needs to be done urgently then this is definitely not the right time to switch to CodeIgniter.

I can help give some advice for the switch as I have done this with a few times for very large applications, but you would be much better off learning CI on the side and converting when the pressure is off.

[eluser]überfuzz[/eluser]