Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
I have a few quesitons about CodeIgniter

[eluser]mkingston[/eluser]
Since I'm just new to CodeIgniter in the past 2 days, I have posted these questions also on Introducing Myself.

I just stumbled upon Codeigniter by accident, while searching for information on Doctrine. Codeigniter really appears to be very powerful and easy to use. I have a few questions, that I’m sure some of you would be able to answer for me.

First, I would like to know how Codeigniter implements AJAX. Are there existing classes that I can use and extend or would I need to start from scratch, writing my own?

Second, I would like to know if there are any examples on how to integrate Doctrine with Codeigniter. Alternatively, does Codeigniter include it’s own ORM with database abstraction?

Third, I would like to know if there are any included examples on how to integrate Smarty or is it more advisable to utilize the template concept within Codeigniter.

Forth, I would like to know if/how CodeIgniter implements i18n.

I am just starting to re-develop an old legacy system to implement on the web. In fact, I had pretty much already settled on another framework, which includes dependency injection. I really like the idea of the dependency injection, but the framework is very new and has few users, so I’m no considering Codeigniter. Any guidance you all could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Merrill

[eluser]BrianDHall[/eluser]
For AJAX and Doctrine, check a forum search or poke around in Ignited Code forum or the wiki. I've seen many doctrine threads for its various versions, and for AJAX there may be a few.

On ORM, I highly recommend you checkout Datamapper OverZealous Extension (DMZ) over in Ignited Code. I love it dearly, it's all I've ever wanted in an ORM system and it has a few great extensions that handle arrays and HTML forms most ingeniously.