Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Error Handling

[eluser]Valdemar[/eluser]
Hi,

I'm quite new to CI framework and am still exploring its options. One thing that bothers me is that it doesn't seems to have any type of error handling.

As a Java user, I'm pretty used to try->catch mechanism. Am I overlooking it or is it not implemented in the framework? If not, is there any similar alternative implemented in CI?

Thank you for your time.

[eluser]coolfactor[/eluser]
You are comparing CI (a framework written in PHP) to Java (a programming language)? You might want to compare apples to apples instead. In this case, PHP is where the try->catch mechanism needs to exist, and it does in PHP 5.

And as for error handling, CI has an Exceptions class that you can extend for your own needs.

[eluser]Valdemar[/eluser]
[quote author="coolfactor" date="1186061950"]You are comparing CI (a framework written in PHP) to Java (a programming language)? You might want to compare apples to apples instead. In this case, PHP is where the try->catch mechanism needs to exist, and it does in PHP 5.[/quote]

Not really, I'm comparing the functionalities of the error handling built into Java with that provided in CodeIgniter. Different languages cannot be compared whereas similar functionalities can.

Further more try->catch is a common way of handling errors and is included in many languages, including php.

Yes, but try->catch not a function of CodeIgniter, but rather the underlying programming language, and it's already there, at least under php5.

[eluser]mrahman[/eluser]
Hi. I was searching the forum for 'exception handling' before asking this question...
Let me explain two scenarions:
1)