Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Modules ? Yes or no.

[eluser]Bl4ckB1rD[/eluser]
I'm still a beginner with this framework and i haven't got the ideology of creating webpages with it yet, that's why i'd like to hear your point of view.

I'm making web browser based mass multiplayer game, and in begining you'll have:

Login / Registration,

When you registered or logged in,
you come to Control panel.

There you have options:

Profile,
Character,
Map,
Tavern,
etc...

And the way i'm coding this is now like this: i made first controller called Game that actually consists of 2 models, login_model and login_registration. In those models i perform SQL statements, verify data etc... and in controler game i just send requests to these models and it's functions.

For all other things like profile, character, map, tavern i made it's own controller. Separated from this game, to isolate each problem on it's own, and each has his own model that performs SQL statements there, so in controllers i have as little code as possible.

I was reading about modules in CI... but what i understand, modules are actually models and controllers isolated from each other... and that's much what i'm doing here... So tell me, is this wrong approach to it or it's good way to continue. Or better... would i gain something by rewriting it to "modules" instead of having controller for each of them (profile, character, map, tavern...) ?

Also i'm using sql based sessions provided by CI. Are they secure enough or no? I have read that basic session is only cookie based, but to verify data of cookie, not to be changed, you have to enable SQL storing in ci_sessions, which i already did. So i hope this is secured well enough or should i be thinking of some other way of doing sessions?

Thanks in advance for the info.

[eluser]InsiteFX[/eluser]
If you are reusing models etc, just create a MY_Controller and then extend it to your other Controllers...

Enjoy
InsiteFX