Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Creating javascript files with access to CodeIgniter functions like base_url()

[eluser]aidehua[/eluser]
(I'm new to CodeIgniter so stop me if I'm saying or doing something stupid...)

I have a view called 'page_elements/header' which contains the parts of my HTML pages that come before the content -- that's to say stuff like <head>, <title>...</title>, <link rel="stylesheet"... />, </head>, and the opening <body> tag.

Within the Controller, I pass some variables for the title text and the stylesheet href, like this:

Code:
$data['title']='Lovely little form';
$data['stylesheet']='style_form';
$this->load->view('page_elements/header',$data);

Then, in the view, I have this:

Code:
<html>
<head>
<title><?= $title?></title>
</head>
<link rel='stylesheet' href='<?=base_url()?>css/<?=$stylesheet ?>.css' type='text/css' />

So far so good. Then I wanted to be able to add [removed] tags to the header view, so I added

Code:
$data['javascripts']=array('script1','script2');

to the controller, and

Code:
<? if(isset($javascripts)):?>
<? foreach ($javascripts as $script): ?>
[removed][removed]
<? endforeach; ?>
<? endif; ?>

And that is fine too.

But then I wanted to have a javascript file which would have access to the CI base_url() function. Obviously if I wrote the script directly in the view, there would be no problem, but by putting the script in a file outside the CI application flow, it no longer has access to things like base_url() which derive from the URL helper.

I thought of a couple of ways of getting round this.

One would be to leave the .js file where it is, but change its extension to .php, and then pass it the base_url() value in the querystring. But that didn't seem very tidy.

In the end I settled on giving JavaScripts that needed access to CI functions their own Controller class (I called it get_js.php)

Code:
<?  
class Get_js extends Controller{

function Get_js(){
        parent::Controller();