Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Model & Controller variable collision?

[eluser]FrankieShakes[/eluser]
Sorry for the confusing title... But I'm not sure exactly how to refer to this issue.

I'm VERY new to CI, coming from a Rails background, and am attempting to use CI as closely as possible to the MVC methodology I learned using Rails. I'm not sure whether the following is even possible (may explain why I'm getting the errors), but I thought I'd ask.

I'm attempting to do the following:

Controller:

Code:
class Registrations extends Controller{

public function __construct(){
        parent::Controller();
    }

public function submit(){

$this->load->model('Form_model', 'form', TRUE);
        $this->form->add_participant();

// instead of referring to the Email library, refers to the
        // model's "email" variable's value
        echo $this->email;

// set our mail fields
        $this->email->to('[email protected]');
        $this->email->from($this->form->email, $this->form->fname);
        $this->email->subject('Hello...');
        $this->email->message('World!');
        $this->email->send();
    }

Model:

Code:
class Form_model extends Model{

var $fname;
    var $email;
    var $comments;
    var $CI;

public function __construct(){
        parent::Model();

$this->CI =& get_instance();
    }

public function add_participant()
    {

$this->fname = $this->CI->input->post('fname');
             $this->email = $this->CI->input->post('email');
             $this->comments = $this->CI->input->post('comments');

$query_data =     array(
                 'fname' => $this->fname,
                 'email' => $this->email,
                 'comments' => $this->comments,
             );

if ( $this->CI->db->insert('participants', $query_data) ){
                 return true;
             } else {
                 return false;
             }
        }

public function list()
    {
        $query = $this->CI->db->get('participants');