Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI + DataMapper + sort relationships

[eluser]chrisloki[/eluser]
Hi guys,

I'm quite new in the "CI" world, though I have some experience with frameworks.

I'm using DataMapper ORM with CI in order to do some tasks, and I have to do something I couldn't achieve with.
Imagine two models, A and B. A has a has_many relationship to B:

function A extends DataMapper {
var $has_many = array("B");
}

I created the intermediate table A_B, and the relationship is working fine.
I can sort the list of B's by any field, but I need to rearrange it in other order.
By example, i have an category and it has a list of posts. How could I sort the lists of posts?

With (the ORM) Hibernate in Java, I can crate in the intermediate table a new field (I usually call it element_position) which I use to set the position/order, and there I do some like this:

A_id | B_id | element_position
1 | 1 | 0
1 | 2 | 2
1 | 3 | 1

Does anyone have an idea of how to implement this with DataMapper?

[]s!

[eluser]BrianDHall[/eluser]
Datamapper is built in top of ActiveRecord, so you can do:

Code:
$a = new A();

$a->where('id', 1)->b->order_by('post', 'ASC")->get();

In Overzealous Extension check the _template.php file in your models directory. For each model you can use a default sort order:

Code:
// --------------------------------------------------------------------
    // Default Ordering
    //   Uncomment this to always sort by 'name', then by
    //   id descending (unless overridden)

// var $default_order_by = array('name', 'id' => 'desc');

I think that should handle what you are looking for.

Brian, thanks for the help. I'll take a look at this _template.php, but at a first glance it is not what I'm looking for.

Imagine that the user can order a list (B, in this case) the way he wants: he can move the first item to the last position, or swap two itens from the B's list.