Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Best practice for formatting data before being entered into a database

[eluser]digitalbloke[/eluser]
Hi there!

I'm new to CodeIgniter and have been watching many video tutorials and I really like what I see! With that in mind, I set about developing a project site to help develop my CI skills.

I had a quick question about the best way to format a string before entering it into the database.

For example, I have a News section in my project, with a controller that allows me to create a news story. In the form there is a field to allow me to set the date the story is to be published at. Should I run human_to_unix() on this field within the controller, and then pass it data to the model or, pass the data to the model and have the model run human_to_unix()?

Thanks in advance!

[eluser]überfuzz[/eluser]
I'd say it's a matter of taste. I like to store all time related stuff in unix_timestamp. What I like about that is that I get virtually all that there is to know about the time stated in a simple int-value. And of course, it what I feel accustom with.

By the way, not to forget. Welcome to the CI forum, hope you'll like it!

[quote author="überfuzz" date="1258941691"]By the way, not to forget. Welcome to the CI forum, hope you'll like it![/quote]
Love it!

Hi überfuzz!

Thanks, I like the unix time stamp too Smile but obviously my users are not going to enter unix time stamps in a form. What I was really after is where would you convert the human input to a unix time stamp?

In the Controller or the Model?

[eluser]tkyy[/eluser]
time() will give you the timestamp in unix format right now. there are native php functions to convert date format's to unix timestamps (i have used this before coding a "browse" page on social web stuff, browsing by age is a little more tricky than you would think).

hope this helps.

[eluser]tkyy[/eluser]