Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Noob help required! Please!

[eluser]yashzn[/eluser]
Sup, I've installed codeIgniter on my localhost, and it works...but can someone PLEASE guide me in the right direction.

I'm a webdesigner (used to use tables in dreamweaver) but I'd like to start structuring my sites better using php.

How do I make a simple site where the index displays the header/footer, and changes the content when you click a menu item...

I know some basic php, so not a total noob at this...help pls!

[eluser]Jeroen Brussich[/eluser]
You know HTML-code?
You understand CSS?
You can code PHP?

Then you can go on to read the CI user guide

[eluser]yashzn[/eluser]
Thanks for the fast reply! I can't actually code php...but i can understand segments if I have to and use it accordingly...I went to the page and viewed the rest of the topics...but nothing Sad

I'm just looking for a step by step tut on how to get a site structure in place...

[eluser]Jeroen Brussich[/eluser]
Then why would you want to move to CI?

No offence meant, but CI is a PHP framework to build applications (and not really websites... ohoh, don't flame me now, guys....)

As far as I know, you can go a long way with just * Dreamweaver. If you really want to switch, I'm afraid I have to point you to those tutorials in order to get a really basic understanding about HTML, CSS and PHP.

* again: no offence
** English not being my mothertongue, I'm apologizing if I'm too rude...

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="yashzn" date="1259370203"]
I can't actually code php...
[/quote]

I would suggest that CodeIgniter might not be the answer to your question, then.

Do extant CMS products like Joomla, Drupal, Mindtouch, Moodle, etc provide the functionality you seek? They're probably going to be far more useful to you if your goal is to build sites without writing code.

And Jeroen - don't panic - you're being way too polite. Wink

[eluser]GamingFusion[/eluser]