Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Codeigniter + XML newbie

[eluser]Ickes[/eluser]
Hello.

This is my first attempt to integrate XML into my CI projects. I am trying to receive an XML data feed from a website into my CI website.

Where do I place my php to receive the XML data feed?
Should I do something like www.MySite.com/data_controller - that doesn't seem right to me.
I don't believe I can do something like www.MySite.com/xml_gets_received_here.php as the CI framework would not allow such a thing?
Additionally, on this config, I don't have access outside the web root.

I am not receiving nor transmitting sensitive information but I want to code properly now so that the habit is developed. Can anyone help with this probably obvious question?

Thanks.

[eluser]Cro_Crx[/eluser]
Quote:Where do I place my php to receive the XML data feed?

If it's going to be used on a single page then a controller would be the best place. If you plan to use it all over your projects or want to reuse the code in the future, maybe consider creating a helper/library, the documentation is in the user guide for this.

Quote:Should I do something like www.MySite.com/data_controller - that doesn’t seem right to me.

You should name your controllers something relevant. So assuming you put your XML code into a controller then for example let's say that controller is showing you user data, then you would name it www.MySite.com/user-data <=== dash or underscore.

If you put the code into a model then name it something appropritate such as "xml_interpreter" or something similar.

Quote:I am not receiving nor transmitting sensitive information but I want to code properly now so that the habit is developed. Can anyone help with this probably obvious question?

Yes.

[eluser]Ickes[/eluser]
Thanks for the help so far. I've read more and think a re-phrasing may help.

How do I receive a simple XML feed from another web site?