Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Automatic Layout Inclusion

[eluser]Drarok[/eluser]
Good morning!
I'm brand new to CI, but not to PHP. I'm trying out various frameworks, trying to find a quick way to bash out some sites.

I've had a look around these here forums, found that someone has created a 'View' library that sort of addresses my issue, but not in the way I'd like.

What I want to do is to write a single outline document (or maybe a header and a footer) that is/are automatically included for every view, so that my view files can just contain the content they will output, with no need to write:
$this->load->view('header');
$this->load->view('section/theview');
$this->load->view('footer');
etc.

I just want to have this in my controller:
$this->load->view('section/index');
and no include() calls or the like in the view at all.

Is this currently possible, or should I start writing my own implementation? I think it would be much tidier this way. It's the way I'm used to working with my own 'frameworks' that I normally use, and also another PHP framework I tried implements templates this way.

Thanks in advance, and apologies if this is glaringly obvious.

[eluser]Michael Wales[/eluser]
FAQ

[eluser]coolfactor[/eluser]
Put the common stuff into your constructor, or another function that you call.

This is where the View library you spoke of comes in handy. Let's look at an example. Say you've written a page "Layout" library that encapsulates all the repetitive stuff:

Code:
class Layout {
    var $CI;

function Layout() {
        $this->CI =& get_instance();    // just do once
    }

// standard template, header, footer
    function prepare_template() {
        $this->CI->view->part('header', 'path/to/header/file');
        $this->CI->view->part('footer',  'path/to/footer/file');
    }

// a different template, header, footer
    function prepare_other_template() {
        $this->CI->view->part('header', 'other_header_file.php');