Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How to pass complex data to other controllers?

[eluser]sauronlord[/eluser]
Hi,

I am new to Code Igniter, and I am curious how to pass a lot/complex data to another controller.

In particular, I have a table of values (think spreadsheet like).
I would like on a submit/save to gather all of the values for every row (there can be hundreds) and then process them in the same(or different controller). The rows may be selectable by checkboxes, and I may only want to send in the ones that are selected.

I read up on the URI segments, and all I could think of at the moment was to pass each row like this:

url.com/controller/myFunc/row1NameValue/row1PropertyXValue/row1PropertyYValue/...etc (repeat for row2...rowN)

And then to reconstruct the 2 dimensional array myself.

Is there an easy way to get from form elements into a Controller function?

I would prefer to probably use POST variables because of the size of data... is there way to retrieve the POST variables from a controller method?

Thank you

[eluser]Udi[/eluser]
I hope I understood you, what is the problem to post the data to this other controller?

Maybe you can save this data in a cookie or session? maybe serialize it first?

what about saving it in the DB, in Temp table that you delete every hour or so... ?

[quote author="Udi" date="1259980870"]I hope I understood you, what is the problem to post the data to this other controller?

Maybe you can save this data in a cookie or session? maybe serialize it first?

what about saving it in the DB, in Temp table that you delete every hour or so... ?[/quote]

Hi,

I have thought of these ideas, and use them all over the place -- the problem is that they seem too low level.

I just basically want to store a NxM matrix and then retrieve it nicely.
I think I would prefer using the session over everything.

Is there a way to make objects persist between page transitions?