Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Which authentication plugin is best?

[eluser]rana[/eluser]
I am new to codeigniter. Interested to use an authentication plugin. Please suggest me which one is best?

Regards

[eluser]umefarooq[/eluser]
try dx_auth or tank_auth

[eluser]JamieBarton[/eluser]
I've got an awesome one, PM me and I'l lshare.

[eluser]fraserk[/eluser]
I second dx_auth.

[eluser]LuckyFella73[/eluser]
[quote author="Jamie B" date="1260837644"]I've got an awesome one, PM me and I'l lshare.[/quote]

Hi Jamie,

if you have an awesome auth system, why not sharing it with the whole
CI community? I personally don't need one at the moment but other
users might be thankful for that.

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
[quote author="rana" date="1260806080"]
I am new to codeigniter. Interested to use an authentication plugin. Please suggest me which one is best?
[/quote]

Best for what purpose?

You should consider your requirements - perhaps even tell us what they are, so we can suggest something with a bit more accuracy - and evaluate your requirements against the features of the different auth libraries.

From what I've seen so far, you're generally better off - assuming a non-trivial application is being developed - to develop your own system from scratch. It's rare to find one that you can fully understand and modify in less time. Of course, for very small applications this rule of thumb doesn't apply.

[eluser]BrianDHall[/eluser]
I've personally run into a bit of a situation where it might make sense to use an auth program, after having long written my own. So here is the summary of my experience:

Upside (when creating your own)): If you don't use an auth system it is much easier and faster to get started on your project, as you only create the bare minimum of what you need and there is little or no learning curve.

Upside: All the bugs are yours, so they are easy to track down.