Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Kohana (php 5) differences with codeigniter..

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi there,

i have started in PHP and found 2 frameworks .. 1 being this and the other being Kohana...

After investigations (remember i am no expert!) .. it seems that codeigniter has some REALLY good documentation and Kohana does not.

It appears that Kohana uses PHP 5 features like new OOP type features etc where codeigniter still uses v4..

I was wondering if anyone can comment on what this means or how it would effect me... I would like to use the latest PHP 5 features... And i am coming from a c# .net background....

I think i probably prefer better documentation over better product... but i would really love some input from anybody

Thanks in advance

[eluser]Johan André[/eluser]
Hi and welcome!

Codeigniter runs on both PHP4 and PHP5. The framwork itself is able to run in PHP4 but (if your server is PHP5) you code for PHP5 preferably. I write all my libraries using PHP5-features, usually because it's better at OOP.

Codeigniter has (like you already noticed) awesome docs and one of the best communities I've ever seen.

Furthermore, Codeigniter lacks ORM by default which I believe Kohana has. For me that is not a big drawback.

Kohana is a fork of Codeigniter which is PHP5 only.
There are other framworks for PHP which are worth to mention:

Symphony, www.symfony-project.org
CakePHP, www.cakephp.org

My choice is ofcourse Codeigniter, since it's easy to deploy in a shared environment and VERY easy to extend and code for. Go with CI and join us here! Smile

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Thank you Johan,

So can i clarify, are you saying this if i develop using PHP 5 then codeigniter uses PHP 5 features?

As i said - I am not experienced with PHP - i am c# developer. But i see a few comments from people saying to stay away from frameworks that support v4 of PHP because of the lack of support for true OOP (not the case with PHP 5)..