Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
add fields to form

[eluser]bhbutter123[/eluser]
what is the easiest, best way to let a user add fields to a form? For example, say you have an text input field where they put someone's name. If they want to add another person's name they would click "add name" and a new input would be added to the form. I have never done anything like this before, with or without codeigniter so please explain it in an easy to understand way.
Thanks

[eluser]darkhouse[/eluser]
all you need is some javascript to add the new fields on the fly. You'll need a container so that you can just append it with the new field, like this:

Code:
<div id="names">
   &lt;input type="text" name="name[]" /&gt;
</div>
<a href="#" id="btn_add_name">Add Name</a>
//either add an onclick to the button, or use jQuery. the forum won't let me write the onclick attribute.

Note the square brackets in the name attribute. This will make it so your post is an array of names. Next, your javascript would be like this:

Code:
function addName(){
   var elmt = document.getElementById('names');
   elmt[dot]innerHTML += '&lt;input type="text" name="name[]" /&gt;';
   //change [dot] to an actual dot. the forum won't let me write it here.
   return false;
}

Or if you use jQuery, it would be this:

Code:
$(document).ready(function(){
   $('#btn_add_name').click(function(){
      addName();
      return false;
   });
});

function addName(){
   $('#names').append('&lt;input type="text" name="name[]" /&gt;');
}

That should just about do it. Just remember to loop through the name post variable to do whatever it is you're doing with the names.

[eluser]bhbutter123[/eluser]
is it possible to still use the codeigniter form_helper with this javascript...the main reason i am asking is that is how i repopulate the form on an error while submitting and find it very easy, how would i incorporate that into this solution?

[eluser]darkhouse[/eluser]