Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Best MVC site structure?

[eluser]N.S.G.[/eluser]
Hi everyone.

I'm new to CI. Also new to the whole MVC programming for that matter.

I've read some tutorials and I think I pretty much understand the basics, so now I want to start with my own project.

Now even before I can start there's something I run into. Probably an easy question for you guys:

Suppose my project is an online community with a login section, a user page and a forum. Basically that would mean (correct me if I'm wrong) I would make three controllers that be called using mysite.com/login, mysite.com/user and mysite.com/forums. Every controller eventually calls a view. Now the thing is, my site of course has a layout that is pretty much the same no matter which page is shown. My question: where do I put the html for that? It seams stupid to put the same html in each view file, right?

Please help Smile Much appreciated!

[eluser]bretticus[/eluser]
[quote author="JurgenCreative" date="1262818494"]
Suppose my project is an online community with a login section, a user page and a forum. Basically that would mean (correct me if I'm wrong) I would make three controllers that be called using mysite.com/login, mysite.com/user and mysite.com/forums.
[/quote]
This is really up to you. However I see login as a function of the user controller /user/login. If you want to get the aesthetics of /login, you can perform that using routes.
[quote author="JurgenCreative" date="1262818494"]
Every controller eventually calls a view. Now the thing is, my site of course has a layout that is pretty much the same no matter which page is shown. My question: where do I put the html for that? It seams stupid to put the same html in each view file, right?
[/quote]