Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
sharing a template accross whole project & css folder location

[eluser]DumpProgrammer[/eluser]
Hi I am new to MVC so these might be a silly questions.

1) I have a template for my website which I would like to share accross my site. In php I was using an php inlude header, footer, sidebar etc. Now in codeigniter I am not sure if I have to create view files for header,footer and side bar etc.

2) Where is it best to store the CSS files,javacsript, jquery , htaccess and image file etc for a project because I had made an include file located in the system folder for my CSS but when I click on my link it takes me back to http://Ci/index.php/home so the CSS does not work any more and I have to remove the index.php. When I go to my config file and put a blank value (I m not sure where exactly because I am not on my computer but this is where you set the base url.).

Thanks in advance

[eluser]whobutsb[/eluser]
[quote author="DumpProgrammer" date="1262893367"]Hi I am new to MVC so these might be a silly questions.

1) I have a template for my website which I would like to share accross my site. In php I was using an php inlude header, footer, sidebar etc. Now in codeigniter I am not sure if I have to create view files for header,footer and side bar etc.

2) Where is it best to store the CSS files,javacsript, jquery , htaccess and image file etc for a project because I had made an include file located in the system folder for my CSS but when I click on my link it takes me back to http://Ci/index.php/home so the CSS does not work any more and I have to remove the index.php. When I go to my config file and put a blank value (I m not sure where exactly because I am not on my computer but this is where you set the base url.).

Thanks in advance[/quote]

I have been using the Assets Library with great success, for managing my CSS, Images, and JS files. And I usually store my .htaccess at the root of application as well.