Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Flexibility of CI

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi all,
I am fairly new to CI (I have written a few small sites with it but impressive) and wonder how flexible it is. I am planning to start working on an open source learning/management system in CI to replace my existing setup which is a very large collection of php scripts to bridge LDAP, Moodle, MYBB, a hacky CMS and multiple WP installs to provide SSO accross the student intranet site.

This isn't actually live (quite frankly it is too much of an un-reliable mess) but is a test implementation of something we have been attempting to implement for nearly 2 years (with no success yet). We have an issue of every system we try being too inflexible to do what we need and trying to edit them whilst supporting updates becomes a nightmare even with testing and version control. So here I arrive at CI.

As I am fairly inexperienced with CI I hope you can help me in deciding if this is the right framework to base our fully custom written system off! So here is the gritty details;

Quick overview:
I spent 2 years assisting in the development of a small independent SEN school's IT systems which extended access to the IT systems and internet to all pupils and staff members. The school has a small pupil number (currently about 60) and a staff team that is roughly double in size. The staff team's IT skills vary and the students range from year 4 to 11. During the time I spent many hours with the senior management discussing how we could incorporate learning with IT more, from this our dream was born.

Basic feedback we got;
Requirements for students:
SSO
Easy navigation
Internal messaging system
Graphical representation of grades/scores
Lists of up coming assignments/homework
Moderated forums
Requirements for staff:
Secure forums
Easy to use WYSIWYG page/news feed editing
Easy event management
Interactive help
Ability to import office documents into course lessons