Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Cross-site interfacing - architectural advice needed

[eluser]rideearthtom[/eluser]
Hello,

I've run into a concept with which I have no experience and was hoping for some advice.

I've been contracted to work on a project which spans several distinct web apps with their own domains and hosting solutions. I'll be using CI. The general model is that there is a central app which acts as a payment-processing and user-authentication back-end to each of the child apps.

This central app provides administrative functionality to the client who operates the network of sites - they can perform various actions on the users and transaction-related objects. There is no public interface to this app, it's just for admin use and providing interface with the child sites.

Each child site offers a unique product/solution, and these sites won't have anything in common except for using the central app's authentication-related functionality and payment-processing functionality. On each of the child sites, the user should be able to register/login, 'buy' the product, and access product material through a user-area. The user will also need to submit profile information, and this will be different for each child site. The profile and purchase details should be stored in the central app, and at all times, the central app should remain transparent, so as far as the user is concerned they've visited the child site, signed up, paid and accessed the online materials without interacting directly with any other site.