Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
One form, many actions

[eluser]Sector[/eluser]
Hello, once again I'm stuck on something, and not being able to find a solution that's not hackerish is nagging at me.

I have a form, and it contains many checkboxes. (one for each item in a table).
At the end of that form, you can press multiple submit buttons. The form is a POST
form that points to the controller action with method delegate. I envisioned this method because I cannot let a form point to multiple URLs.

What I want to happen is: if a person checks a few checkboxes and presses the 'delete' button, I want to delegate page to reroute to action/delete, with exactly the same POST array.

How can I accomplish this with Code Igniter?

Thanks very much in advance!

[eluser]Nillian[/eluser]
Hi there,

I'm a newbie myself so forgive me if I give you wrong information, but here goes anyway.

I assume that your various submit buttons have differing "name" attributes in the HTML?

You should be able to put a small piece of code in your 'delegate' function that decides which of these buttons has been pressed and takes the appropriate action (calling the right function from the related Model/Library)

An example, in semi-pseudo-code...

Code:
function delegate()
{
    if ($this->input->post('deletebutton'))
    {
        // You could simply call the function...
           $params = $this->input->xss_clean($_POST);
           $this->delete($params);

// Or, put the 'delete' method inside a Model or a custom Library
           $params = $this->input->xss_clean($_POST);
           $this->load->model('my_model');
           $this->my_model->params = $params;
           $this->my_model->delete();
    }
    elseif ($this->input->post('editbutton'))
    {
        // Etc...
    }
}