Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
category -> subcategory ->subsubcategory system

[eluser]kmunky[/eluser]
hi there!
first of all i have to mention that i'm quite new to CI. So...i was wondering how can i programatically do a dynamic hierarchical system? you know what i mean.. my url should look something like
Code:
http://mysite.com/category/subcategory/subsubcategory/etc..
and the user can add more and more categories and subcategories to expand the tree.
hope you can help me. thanks :-)

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Hi kmunky and welcome to the CI forums.

This question pops up quite regularly, so you might want to spend some time trawling the forums for previous threads (try topic searches that include hierarchy, recursive, subcategories, subcategory, sub-category, etc).

[quote author="kmunky" date="1266141505"]
... a dynamic hierarchical system?
[/quote]

There's obviously several aspects to this - parsing your URL (fairly simple), doing something with that URL (less so), and persumably having some data in a database somewhere that you're working with (least simple).

What bits have you a) done, and/or b) got your head around so far?

[eluser]kmunky[/eluser]
thanks @jedd for your reply. I didn't check on forum yet but i was thinking on something, to create a base controller and the first section of the url be it's name; the argument for that controller to be the last section of the url. now...my questions are:
1. do you think that the implementation of this system will be possible, will it be reliable?
2. how can i generate the url? i'm thinking of using mysql nested set model or it's doctrine equivalent (i'm not quite sure how it works but i'll focus on it), or is there a better way to do this without database interrogation ?

many thanks

[eluser]jedd[/eluser]
Have a read of [url="/forums/viewthread/137031/"]this thread[/url].