Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Categories, subcategories, items

[eluser]roadie[/eluser]
Hi guys!
I need some help and I'd really appreciate it.

I'd like to create an application, something like a business directory, but not very complicated.

The structure is like this:
Category1
Category1-1
Item1
Item2
Item3
Category1-2
Item4
Categroy1-3
Category2
and so on.....

I need some help with the model. I've been trying for few days and I can't figure it out how to do it. I'm new in CI and your help would be really appreciate it.

[eluser]ciGR[/eluser]
Hi, first of all you must set your database structure.

For example you can set the table for categories

Code:
cat_id | cat_name | parent_cat_id

for example the Category1-1 has parent_id the cat_id of the category1, also the Category1-2 ...
The top categories like Category1, Category2 you can set parent_id = 0, to separate from the others.

another approach id to create 2 tables in your database
first
Code:
cat_id | cat_name

and a second with
Code:
id | parent_cat_id | sub_cat_id |

for example in the second table you may have

Code:
1 | Category1-id | Category1-1-id
2 | Category1-id | Category1-2-id
3 | Category2-id | Category2-1-id

and work with joins queries.

[eluser]roadie[/eluser]
Hi!
Thanks for your reply.
I'm thinking to create 2 tables anyways, something like this.

1.Category
id
parent_id
name
description

2.Item
id
parent_id
name
content

The Item will have the actual content.
I wrote some simple controller, model and view but I could make it retrieve only the top-level categories.

<<Controller>>
function category()
{
$this->load->model('category_model');
$data['cats'] = $this->category_model->getCategory();
$this->load->view('categories_view', $data);

}

<<Model>>
function getCategory()
{
$query = $this->db->get_where('category', array('parent_id' => 0));
return $query->result();
}
function getSubcats($id)
{
$query = $this->db->get_where('category', array('parent_id' =>$id));