Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
New here. Need some help with languages

[eluser]Neil_W[/eluser]
Hello,
I'm just getting started with CI and am converting my existing site. My site supports about 15 or so languages and this is currently done via a cookie storing the language code, which then picks the associative array storing the strings - which isn't too dis-similar to the way the language system works in CI.

However, what's missing in CI is this initial retrieval of the current language in the cookie.

As far as I can see there are a few ways and wanted some opinions:

1. Add a hook to the pre_controller and retrieve the cookie if not set
2. Extend the language class to retrieve the cookie in the constructor if not already set
3. Write a new custom library that retrieves cookies into an array (using a key for the cookie name) that could then be run as an autoloaded library

I assumed I'd add this to either a global or a custom config value (or a method if option 3 used).

Thanks for any response.

btw, I checked out the language plugins available (e.g. the one that embeds the language code in the url) but didn't like them. I simply want the best approach to reading/storing a cookie on startup so I can populate the data array.

[eluser]jpi[/eluser]
Hi,

I have used a pre_controller hook in my last project. It worked well. I only faced a little problem : I was auto loading a library which needed some language information (mainly strings dealing with form_validation), but the pre_controller hook was not executed yet. In other words, don't forget that pre_controller hook comes after autoloading.

Anyway, hooks are a bit expensive in term of performance. So if this is the only hook needed, my advice is not to activate hook at all and go for solution 2 or 3.

[eluser]Neil_W[/eluser]