Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Theoretical question

[eluser]Stobyer[/eluser]
Hi, folks.
I'm new to web development and php frameworks, including codeigniter, so, please, excuse me if I'm wrong or if my question is a trivial.

As I understood from CI's code the whole framework (all needed libs, helpers, models, db, etc.) loaded for EACH http request.
Most of the above resources are dataless, so they may be reused for multiple requests. Even models may be designed such way that data will be stored apart of functionality.

So my questions are:
Why aren't dataless resources reused?
Why not the main framework components initialize only once (may be in a lazy way)?

Thanks you in advance.
Stobyer

[eluser]danmontgomery[/eluser]
Welcome Stobyer,

What you're describing isn't a limitation of CodeIgniter, but of PHP... To be honest, I wouldn't call it a limitation at all.

The only way to transfer data across HTTP requests are to store the data on the server (sessions) or the client (cookies). It is technically possible to store objects in the session, but that data is accessible to the browser and there are definite security implications, not to mention the extra storage it would take to store a persistent object for each user. Cookies, besides being stored on the client's computer, have a size limitation of 4k.

Generically speaking, when an HTTP request is made, an apache (using apache as an example, it would be any webserver) instance is spawned, the appropriate PHP script is run, output is sent to the browser, and the process is killed. There are several benefits... For example, this allows for PHP to do it's own garbage collection, exponentially increases security, and it allows for hundreds or thousands of concurrent users on a relatively low-end machine, depending on the application.