Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Help with deciding what next to learn for a complete newbie

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi i come from a graphic design background and i have recently been made redundant so I have time on my hands to learn a programming language for I want to be competent in making nice dynamic sites with backend CMS. When i was a designer I occasionally made simple pretty html/css sites for friends etc but they obviously were static and limiting. Any way I really want to learn something new to further the web side of my skills and at the moment don't know what the next step should be for someone like me.

I recently started to learn php from a lynda.com course but then got worried reading various stuff on the net that maybe php is a bit old hat compared to languages such as ruby and perl. So I change track and started to learning rubyonrails for which I'm currently doing. But i'm still not completely confident that I'm heading down the right track. I think i might be trying to do something a little out of my depth, I I know I will never be professional programer and neither do I wish to be, my forte is more visual based, but I really want to offer the complete package to clients without having to hire a programmer all the time.

I know this is is a framework and that php should be learnt before this, but rubyonrails shares a similar MVC architecture I'm told, so I'm asking you ignitors if codeigniter & php sounds a better match for my needs over other languages? Oh I also found rubyonrails very lacking in tutorials etc about how to make websites. something that doesn't seem a problem for codeignitor, and was unsure about rubyonrail's reliance on the terminal.