Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Parent Controller

[eluser]lenwood[/eluser]
I've been watching/reading tutorials for two weeks now, trying to learn as much as I can. I've noticed that when building controllers, some developers use constructors and some don't. I'm brand new to developing with PHP (although I've been a hack for years), what's the significance/relevance of including

Code:
function Something()
       {
            parent::Controller();
       }

Is there a best practice? How do I know if I need this?

[eluser]Jelmer[/eluser]
You need to have the constructor there to properly preserve the CI application flow. If you don't in the case of controllers, you won't have access to all the base classes and any other autoloaded classes.
Not using contstructors as instructed in the User Guide will give you trouble and unexpected behavior.
Constructors can be called the same as their class or just __construct() (in PHP5), both are valid constructors.

If you want to find out exactly how and what you can always just find out by looking into the Controller class in the system/libraries folder and see what happens when you call it's constructor...

[EDIT] I was mistaken, if you don't define a new constructor it'll be inherited - more in posts #5 and #6.

[eluser]lenwood[/eluser]
That makes sense, thanks Jelmer. I assume its the same with models?

It's curious to me that in most of the video tutorials that I've seen (I've been watching Jeff Way's series on nettuts) the constructors are left out.

[eluser]theprodigy[/eluser]
First off, I'm going to say that I never build child classes without a constructor (or any class for that matter), but it is my understanding that constructors act like other functions in the case of inheritance.

If the child does not have a constructor, it inherits the parent's constructor, as long as the parent's constructor is of the proper scoping (public or protected).