Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
[SOLVED] Passing values from one function to another in a model?

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
** Admin please move to code discussion forum, my apologies for wrong section **

Ok first off I am totally new to CI and php and was stoked when I was able to actually get the controller, model and view to all talk to each other and actually show data.

I have one table (CatList) that list the names of categories with a CatID field. I have a 2nd table (PageDetails) with more details and a CatID field that relates to the CatList.CatID field.

What I want to do is list the headings from the CatList table with a list of the pages from the PageDetails table that are listed with the same CatID.

I was able to get the headings to list (my first success with working with data Smile ) and used the function below:

Model
Code:
function fetch_cats()
{
//select the categories from the database and order by cat name
        $this->db->select('CatID,CatName');
    $this->db->order_by('CatName');
    $query=$this->db->get('PageCats');

if($query->num_rows() > 0)
    {
           return $query->result();
    }
    else
    {
        return FALSE;
    }
}
In the controller I called it as such:
Code:
//* load the model to fetch the invader categories
    $this->load->model('CatList','CList');
    $this->data['Cats'] = $this->CList->fetch_cats();

//load view invaders/index and attach model data to it
    $this->load->view('getcats/index', $this->data);

View
Code:
<?php
    foreach ($Cats as $Cat)
    {        
    echo('<h1>' . $Cat . '</h1>');
    }
?&gt;

Now what I can figure out for the life of me is how to script a second function (and believe me I tried many combinations) to call and list the pages for each category heading according to its CatID. I am stuck on how to pass values between functions in the model.