Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Help with generating db driven dropdown search function

[eluser]IbnKhnata[/eluser]
Hello

I am a codeigniter newb and is trying to create a search function for my website where people could either search by entering keywords, or by selecting a year or publication type or author name from different drop down boxes( the whole thing should be database driven off course.
I am having trouble with my last dropdown box(authors), I can't get it do display the first and last name of the authors without having an undefined Index First_Name to be diplayed inside the combo box.
Some help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks

here what I have so far

Controller
function search()
{

$keywords = trim($this->input->post('search_string'));
$yr = trim($this->input->post('Year'));
$type = trim($this->input->post('Type'));
$author = trim($this->input->post('Authors'));
$search_items = array('keywords' =>$keywords,'yr'=>$yr);
$this->load->model('publications_model');
$data['Year'] = $this->publications_model->get_Year_dropdown();
$data['Type'] = $this->publications_model->get_Type_dropdown();
$data['Authors'] = $this->publications_model->get_Authors_dropdown();
$data['publications'] = $this->publications_model->getTableResults($search_items);
$this->load->view ('publication_view',$data);
}

Model

function get_Authors_dropdown() {

$this->db->select('StaffID','Last_Name','First_Name');
$this->db->order_by('Last_Name', 'asc');
$query=$this->db->get('tbl_staff');
$author_result = $query->result_array();

return ($author_result);
}

View ( partial code)
<select name ="Authors" />
<option value="all">- By Authors-</option>
&lt;?php foreach ($Authors as $key => $items){ ?&gt;
<option value="&lt;?=$items['First_Name'] . ' '. $items['Last_Name']?&gt;"&lt;?php echo set_select('Authors',$items['First_Name'] . ' '. $items['Last_Name']);?&gt;>&lt;?=$items['First_Name'] . ' ' . $items['Last_Name']?&gt;</option>
&lt;?php } ?&gt;
</select>