Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Load views after posting a form!

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hello everyone!

I'm new to the codeigniter framework and I'm impressed of how fast you can write code with it! The only problem I have is the following and I hope there is a good way to solve it!

I will keep it simple so let's say I have 2 controllers (login.php & site.php) and 1 view (home.php).

site.php
Code:
<?php

class Site extends Controller {

function index()
    {
        $data['a'] = 'example';
        $data['b'] = 'test';

$this->load->view('home.php', $data);
    }

}

login.php
Code:
<?php

class Login extends Controller {

function index()
    {
        // Run form validation and if ok do the following
        redirect('site');
        //else
        $data['a'] = 'example';
        $data['b'] = 'test';

$this->load->view('site', $data);
    }

}

home.php
Code:
html code + form that posts to login.php

My problem is that because the form posts the data to the login.php controller, (if the validation fails and I want to show the errors) I have to load the view again and enter the array $data again because it is essential to the view.

In this case it's ok because this is a small array. But what if I have a view which requires a lot of data (and some of them is from a database!). I have to recreated the data every time I want to load a view from a different controller? Is there a way to load the view by calling the site/index and keep intact the form validation messages?

Thanks in advance.. I hope there is an easy solution to this!

[eluser]richzilla[/eluser]
Ideally, you should put your validation functions in the same controller your view is being called from, then redirect after youve validated your form. However, if you want to access the same controller function from many controllers, you should look at the documentation for MY_Controller:

http://codeigniter.com/wiki/MY_Controlle...ontroller/