Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Create a base Controller for my App problem

[eluser]Stefano G[/eluser]
Hello,
I am a Java/J2EE developer, and I am new to CI (although I develop php4 apps since 2001).

My current problem is that, I wanted to code my super controllers and models that could provide some convenience methods to be used in the "child" classes (I think this is the very first thing an OOP developer wants to do before even start coding a new app!).

This is the situation I'd like to implement (using php4 and CI 1.5.4):

application/controller/appcontroller.php

Code:
class AppController extends Controller

application/controller/controller1.php

Code:
class Controller1 extends AppController

as simple as 1 2 3? not at all! I received the "can't inherit from non existing class..." error when invoking the Controller1 class from my URIs.

What's wrong with that? I have read that I can not extend Models but what about Controllers?

Thank you for any kind feedback.

Stefano

[eluser]Clooner[/eluser]
Put this at the begin of the controller1 file and it should work

Code:
require_once("appcontroller.php");

[eluser]coolfactor[/eluser]
Creating a class called MY_Controller that extends Controller is another option. MY_Controller would be loaded automatically for you by the system.

/application/libraries/MY_Controller.php
Code:
class MY_Controller extends Controller {

}

Then you just need to extend your normal controllers from MY_Controller instead of Controller to inherit the shared functionality.

(The "MY_" prefix can be anything you want, configurable in config/config.php)

Thanks for the replies Smile

@clooner: I have seen in some other discussion such a fix but I'd rather keep things clean to avoid future compatibility problems Wink

@coolfactor: I will try that solution but I really don't understand why my solution (that is the easiest one and absolutely OOP compliant) does not work... it looks very strange to me...

Thanks again