Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
new to CI / MVC in general ... few questions :T

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hey guys,

As $title says, I'm new to this new formatting approach of MVC (though not programming), so I'm a bit confused as to some of the stuff. I'm finding it a little hard to put my question in words, so please bear with me a bit here.

Basically, some parts of the MVC design in general are not making sense to me. I can't really see a practical example of what a Model should be. Or, more specifically .. should I ever use a Model just to access a DB table, or would you do all of that in a view?

A sample scenario I'm thinking of is where you just have a database table that you are reading from and accessing directly. The DB and ActiveRecord functions are quite nice, and make it incredibly simple to read and write data, updating the table records as necessary. I guess that's my question ... if you just need to edit stuff in and out of data rows, would you use the View (fex: parse $_POST from an update form, and set the new data to the variables)?

I can understand using a Model if you need to take a high level approach to a complex database schema, where you don't want to rewrite long queries w/joins and such, but that's the only time I could see using it.

I'm curious what people are using Models for, exactly, or .. how basic of a level they should be applied.

Thanks

[eluser]skunkbad[/eluser]
You don't have to use models. I say that because it's true, as you can put everything in the controller if you desire. The user manual even suggests this. I use models for DB queries, inserts, updates, etc. I also may process the result or result array of a query in the model, before sending it to the controller. I load my views from the controller.

I think some people's work flow is totally different. I think some people load the views from the model, and they have the model do almost everything, with the controller just handling input.