Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Custom message for form validation?

[eluser]yxxm[/eluser]
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to CodeIgniter here, so forgive if this question has been answered already. I've looked in the docs for setting a custom error message when a field (form) validation fails. What I see in the documentation (Setting Error Messages) is:

Quote:All of the native error messages are located in the following language file: language/english/form_validation_lang.php

To set your own custom message you can either edit that file, or use the following function:
$this->form_validation->set_message('rule', 'Error Message');

So I went ahead and changed 'required' to my custom rule. Obviously this worked, but it changed it for all of the fields (as expected). Essentially, I want the default string for the required rule, but for one of my fields I would like an error message that I explicitly define. So, for example, here is what I'm trying to accomplish:

Code:
// Name is okay with the default required message (as well as the rest of the [omitted] fields)
$this->form_validation->set_rules('name', 'Name', 'trim|required');

// I would like type to have an explicit message of: 'Type must be A, B, or both A and B'
$this->form_validation->set_rules('type[]', 'Type', 'required');

It seems that logically, set_rules should have an optional fourth parameter that allows you to override the default error message for the rule, but keep the rule (behavior) in tact. The only way I see that this can be accomplished is by creating a custom callback that mimics the behavior of required. Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance!

[eluser]bretticus[/eluser]