Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Phil Sturgeon's REST Client: help posting to REST server

[eluser]cgeisel[/eluser]
Hi all,

I'm new to CI and using Phil Sturgeon's REST Client & Server libraries, but I'm having a really hard time getting the client to POST correctly.

I'm using his REST Server code exactly as written. The service is located here:
http://test.christophergeisel.com/restserver/

Here's my REST Client:
Code:
class Newtest extends Controller
{
    function index()
    {
      $this->load->library('rest', array(
        'server' => 'http://test.christophergeisel.com/restserver/'
      ));

$method = 'post';
      //$method = 'get';
      $format = 'application/json';
      $params = array('name' => 'Phil');

$this->rest->format($format);

if(in_array($method, array('put', 'post')))
      {
        $uri = 'index.php/example_api/user';
        $result = $this->rest->{$method}($uri, $params);
      }
      elseif(in_array($method, array('get', 'delete')))
      {
        $uri = 'index.php/example_api/user/id/1';
        $result = $this->rest->{$method}($uri);
      }
      else {
        $result = "bad method, bub.";
      }
      $this->rest->debug();
      print_r($result);
    }

}

When I set the method to 'get', the uri is set to 'index.php/example_api/user/id/1'. That works fine!

If I set the method to 'post', the uri is set to 'index.php/example_api/user', and I send an array as the parameters, in this case: array('name' => 'Phil');

That gets me a response, but the 'name' parameter isn't set. Here's the code from the REST Server library, in example_api.php:
Code:
function user_post()
    {  
        //$this->some_model->updateUser( $this->get('id') );
        $message = array('id' => $this->get('id'), 'name' => $this->post('name'), 'email' => $this->post('email'), 'message' => 'ADDED!');

$this->response($message, 200); // 200 being the HTTP response code
    }