Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Include controller within controller

[eluser]variouspixels[/eluser]
I have a fairly simple website setup at present. My contacts page is more complicated than my other static pages and I have created a seperate form controller for this which works. How do I include my form controller into my contacts page? I know I can paste the code in from my other controller but I want to keep them separate.

Also, /form has a page of its own I do not want this form controller should only churn out a contacts_view.php include.

Noob here, I guess this is a simple question. Hope the question makes sense.

Code:
class Site extends Controller {

function index() {
    $data = array();
        $data['title'] = 'Home';

$this->load->view('header_view', $data);

$data = array();
        $this->load->view('index_view', $data);

$data = array();
        $this->load->view('footer_view', $data);
    }

function about( // like above )...
    function events( // like above )...
    function services( // like above )...
    function contacts( // alot of code to paste in from my working controller. messy I want to keep separate controller )

}

[eluser]antonagestam[/eluser]
You should check out modular extensions: http://codeigniter.com/wiki/Category:Library::HMVC/

net.tutsplus.com posted a nice article on the topic a while a go: http://net.tutsplus.com/tutorials/php/hv...plication/

Quick scan through that article and I get the impression CI does not support HMVC and its better for larger scale apps.

I have a small site with 4 static(ish) pages and 1 contact form. Have I started off wrongly making this more complicated than it needs to be? Surely I dont need to create a new page for every new controller/new dynamic element. I thought it would be best practice to keep my site and form controller separate.

[eluser]Flemming[/eluser]