Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Small form validation issue

[eluser]kaos78414[/eluser]
So I'm still a novice with codeigniter but slowly but surely I am learning. (Next I am going to try to implement AJAX).

So I have this comment form, and it shows up correctly and the comments show up correctly and the blog post shows up correctly. It is also written to display "No Comments" when there are none, and that works. So everything looks right and the url looks like root/blog/view/(blog_id)

But when submitting a comment that doesn't pass validation it goes to blog/comment_submit, so $this->uri->segment(3) doesn't find the blog id, and can't pass it to the hidden form so trying to submit a comment from there only brings up a blank page.

My code looks like this-

Controller
Code:
function comment_submit() {
        $this->load->library('form_validation');

$this->form_validation->set_rules('author', 'Name', 'required');
        $this->form_validation->set_rules('email', 'Email', 'required|valid_email');
        $this->form_validation->set_rules('body', 'Comment', 'required|min_length[10]');

if ($this->form_validation->run() == FALSE) {
            if (isset($_POST['blogid'])){
                $this->view($blog_id = $_POST['blogid']);
            }
            else {
                $data['body'] = 'error_404';
                $data['subtitle'] = '404 - Error';

$this->load->view('includes/template', $data);
            }
        }
        else {
            $this->commentmodel->insert_comment();

$data['message'] = 'Comment successfully posted.';

redirect('blog/view/'.$_POST['blogid']);
        }
    }

The other problem is that the message value won't pass using redirect. (So I can't give a success message)

Do I absolutely need to use AJAX for this or is there another way?

Can anyone see anything else I may be doing wrong?

[eluser]FrancoNoronha[/eluser]