Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Codeigniter - How to reveal info after is password entered via ajax

[eluser]design_shuffle[/eluser]
Hi,

I am working on a codeigniter site, the client has requested that the price columns in a datatable are hidden from view unless a user enters a correct password(which they will give out to clients over the phone).

The obvious way is to make the user login which then reveals a new table/page with prices included.

Can I achieve this via AJAX somehow?, i.e. a dialog box appears, the user enters a password, a request is sent and a new table loads with prices included?

I am a total rookie at Codeigniter, but I am learning everyday, please could someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
Dan

[eluser]bretticus[/eluser]
[quote author="design_shuffle" date="1277402692"]
Can I achieve this via AJAX somehow?, i.e. a dialog box appears, the user enters a password, a request is sent and a new table loads with prices included?[/quote]

Yep. The easiest way is to use the load function of JQuery. This is less than trivial if you are a CI rookie as you say. However, not too bad with a little bit of insight.

Here's the idea (how I'd do it.)...