Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Help solving mystery after deploying project..

[eluser]Jodah[/eluser]
Hello

I have been developing a not very complex project.. Basically a CRUD to a particular database, with authentication done trough a LDAP server and some ssh connection to deploy some of the info.

It took me some time and effort (i am REALLY new to both PHP and CODEIGNITER)
but i got a functional tool, and it was time to deploy it to a test production server.

I deployed the tool (uploaded the coedigniter folder), changed the config.php file and the database.php file to work on the new server.

But when i try and access the tool, all i get is a blank page instead of the login page.

after some "debbuging" using echos, i found that the flow stops when loading the /system/codeiginiter/CodeIgniter.php file trough the base index.php, after the line "$CI = new $class()".

The environment is exactly the same, with exception for the php version that is older in production server, but still above the minimum required by Codeigniter.

If anyone has any thoughts i would greatly appreciate it.

thank you for your time

[eluser]Simian Studios[/eluser]
Do you have PHP 5 on your development server and PHP 4 on the production server?

First thing that springs to mind is that the class contructors work slightly differently between 4 and 5, so that might be it.

What do your logs say?

[eluser]Jodah[/eluser]
See! Now there is a huge proof of my inexperience!

I don't know a thing about checking the logs. I think i actually read something about logs before, but could not get to them (or getting them to work). I will have to run by that again...

They are both PHP 5.

Thank you for the tip, i'll try and dig something up

Heh, the logs will become your best friend before too long Wink