Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
When to load what?

[eluser]Kola[/eluser]
I'm still rather new to CI so hopefully one can help me out. My idea is to build my website around libraries, which will look something like this:

Core.php - all core functions, inherited by almost any sub-library
Auth.php - user functions
News.php - news

etc etc. First of all, what i want to achive, is a system which is more module based. So I can basicly plug 1 system in and kapow, I have a working news system. How does most people get around this?- especially the administration part which I haven't figured out yet (think my initial plan is to make a set of functions in a file, which is then incorporated into a administration panel or something).

But yeah, how do you guys get around this?

Secondly, in my file Core.php I have a constructor instanciating the CI framework ($this->CI =& get_instance()Wink - am I supposed to do this for the sub-libraries aswell then?

[eluser]WanWizard[/eluser]
It is possible to do it this way, altough you deviate from the CI MVC setup in that you intend to 'misuse' libraries as generic controllers.

It is better to go for a modular approach, and implement your site components as modules that you can call from a page controller when you want to add functionality. There are several CI extensions around that provide support for modularity. Search the forum or the wiki.

This is how ExiteCMS works, you create a module for a specific function (p.e. a slideshow), drop it into the modules directory, and call it from a page. A module is basically a self-contained mini-CI application, it contains all controllers, views, libraries, models and assets to provide said functionality. The only difference is that a module controller (in my case) doesn't generate a full page, but only a partial (in ExiteCMS terms a page element, PyroCMS calls it a widget) so you can plug it into an existing page.

[eluser]Kola[/eluser]