Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
active record and $_POST error...

[eluser]JP X3M[/eluser]
CodeIgniter newbie here... ^__^

im having problems with the method in the video create a blog in 20 minutes...

why does the function

function comment_insert(){

$this->db->insert('comments',$_POST);

}

it wants to insert even the submit button... but naturally it will not be found on the database and so generates an error 1054

Unknown column 'Post_Comment' in 'field list'

thanks in advance.. im sorry for asking such noobish question,,, ^__^

[eluser]ELRafael[/eluser]
[quote author="JP X3M" date="1190238735"]CodeIgniter newbie here... ^__^

im having problems with the method in the video create a blog in 20 minutes...

why does the function

function comment_insert(){

$this->db->insert('comments',$_POST);

}

it wants to insert even the submit button... but naturally it will not be found on the database and so generates an error 1054

Unknown column 'Post_Comment' in 'field list'

thanks in advance.. im sorry for asking such noobish question,,, ^__^[/quote]

hum... in the video, doesn't have name (name='Post_Comment') in the submitt button. :cheese:
but, for security reason, you need to validate the post that you received. Be carefull when you use $this->db->insert('table', $_POST);

[eluser]Michael Wales[/eluser]
Yeah, I definitely would not just dump the $_POST array into that field. Here's what you should (and it will give you some practice working with CI!

1. Create an array named (I usually call it $insert) where each key is the name of a column in your record that corresponds to the value from the posted form.
2. Use Active Record to insert this array.

Here's a code example really quick - I've never watched the blog tutorial so I can't use the same fields but you'll get the idea:

Code:
$insert = array{'title' => $this->input->post('title'),
            'body' => $this->input->post('body'),
            'created_on' => now(),