Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Mysterious case of caching

[eluser]Maglok[/eluser]
So I am developing this application at the moment on a new-ish server. The server is a Windows server.

Now my expertise in this area is quite limited, I am a developer, not a sysadmin.

I am unsure if it is a CI issue or not, but am doubting enough to ask regardless.

THE PROBLEM
Anytime I go to a page I have already been I see (most) of it as it was before, even if something changed.

EXAMPLES
I set flashdata after filling out a form to the tune of 'Form filled out ok', which is then displayed on top of the page it redirects to. It doesn't show up, not untill you do an additional refresh on the page.

Someone changes his avatar. The avatar will not show up as the new avatar until a refresh is done.

Login form on a page, it redirects to the page you are at (login is on all pages if you are not logged in). It will not show the 'logged in' logic of the view until we refresh again.

EXTRA INFO
I have tested this on IE7, IE8, Firefox and Chrome. They all seem to exhibit more or less the same characteristics.

Since logging in or displaying flashdata could be session related I first thought that might be it. Though updating an avatar does nothing to the current session.

I have created a quick non-CI page and put an image there. I then loaded the page. I then changed the code of the file to another image and loaded the URL again in a different tab. That just gives me the new image, thus leading me to believe it is something in CI I did. I can thus not reproduce this situation outside of CI.

THE QUESTION
What on earth is going on? Smile

[eluser]Twisted1919[/eluser]
Maybe you need to disable output caching (if u didn't do that yet) .
Of course, you can have a MY_Controller.php and set the headers for all the pages so the cache won't happen .

[eluser]Maglok[/eluser]