Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Model Example is Bad in User Guide

[eluser]MNG GHOST[/eluser]
[quote author="InsiteFX" date="1297159850"]This is why use use a library and you set all of your
input post data in the library then you pass the $data array
to your model!

Very simple!

InsiteFX[/quote]

Dear All,
In a Model structure, there only be parameters like

function GetMenus($parrams = array(), $id = 0)
{
// here we can manipulate what is comming from our user interfaces, so we can use $parrams array or our single parameter id.

//Its not needed to use directly input->post();
//Since the idea behind the model is just interacting with DB and returning to any where its called.
}

Naser Gulzade
reply: [email protected]

[eluser]Madoc[/eluser]
Apologies to be a bit off topic but for the sake of clarification as I am a CI beginner:

[quote author="InsiteFX" date="1297159850"]This is why use use a library and you set all of your input post data in the library then you pass the $data array to your model!
[/quote]

By library do you mean the controller ?

[quote author="InsiteFX" date="1297159850"]then you pass the $data array to your model!
[/quote]

You pass your array to the model function rather than the model right ?

[quote author="MNG GHOST" date="1301402223"]
{
// here we can manipulate what is comming from our user interfaces, so we can use $parrams array or our single parameter id.

//Since the idea behind the model is just interacting with DB and returning to any where its called.
}
[/quote]

Am I wrong in saying that you generate your array on the controller (using the input->post()) ?

And for my information: why use an array rather than individual parameters for each information intended to be used on the model ? is it better practice ? Isn't it more risky due to the flexibility of the array (no size restriction on the array passed to the function) ?

Code:
function GetMenus($param1, $param2, $param3, $param4, $id = 0)
{