Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
polymorphic functions in controller ?

[eluser]g_montel[/eluser]
Hello

Sorry, I'm a newbie who searched in the forum but could not find any solution for that FAQ...

I'm using CI 1.7.2.

I'd like to have a dynamic image resizing controller that would work this way

http://www.mydomain.com/media/img/150/45...size/image

-> it would return a 150px wide, 45px high, copy of the image at the server path /local/path/to/fullsize/image

I created a Media Controller and an img function inside
Code:
class Media extends Controller {
    function img($vars)
    {
        // parse vars to get width, height, and local path
    }
}

The problem is I get - obviously - only "150" in vars when I call the controller.
I just need a polymorphic function calls for img, so that I could get all the parameters to the img function, whatever the number of parameters following.

Is it possible ?

Thanks

Geoffroy

[eluser]danmontgomery[/eluser]
http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...s/uri.html

[eluser]ipavlic[/eluser]
[quote author="g_montel" date="1281469639"]I created a Media Controller and an img function inside
Code:
    function img($vars)
    {
        // parse vars to get width, height, and local path
    }
}

The problem is I get - obviously - only "150" in vars when I call the controller.
I just need a polymorphic function calls for img, so that I could get all the parameters to the img function, whatever the number of parameters following.

Is it possible ?

Thanks

Geoffroy[/quote]

Hi Geoffroy, and welcome to CodeIgniter. noctrum gave you a good answer.

If you look at URI Class you can see that you can read any segment by using
Code:
$this->uri->segment(n)
Segments are separated by a slash '/', and start at your controller.
Width is then segment(2), height is segment(3), etc.

Using segments you can write a polymorphic function.