Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Asset helper?

[eluser]Fred Riley[/eluser]
[ Ok, third try to post - hit Submit Post last 2 times, got a blank form afterwards, no post appearing. This time I'll try a preview first to see if that works. Hmm. ]

What happened to the asset helper? I've spent a frustrating hour simply trying to link a CSS file into a view and in the end had to use the seriously clunky:

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="<?php echo base_url() . 'system/application/assets/css/resourcedb.css'; ?>" />

Looking online, there's an article in the CI Wiki about an 'asset helper' at http://codeigniter.com/wiki/Asset_Helper/ but there's no such helper in the latest CI I downloaded and not a mention in the otherwise excellent User Guide. Has this helper been deprecated, and if so in favour of what?

I'm a beginner at CI (though well experienced in PHP) and am still testing and learning, so don't want to sod around with url rewrites in .htaccess files as I'm testing on 3 platforms (Mac, Windoze, Unix), plus it's a pain at this stage. I've been pleased with CI up to now but not being able to simply link to a stylesheet has put a fly in the ointment.

Fred

PS: It took over 15 minutes to register on this forum - is that a fussy captcha, or what? ;-\

[eluser]danmontgomery[/eluser]
Assets should really be kept out of the application folder. Generally, the assets folder will be on the same level as index.php.

That asset helper is a 3rd party contribution, not an official helper included in the codeigniter download. The download to that helper is included on the wiki page you linked to.

[eluser]Fred Riley[/eluser]
[quote author="noctrum" date="1282343384"]Assets should really be kept out of the application folder. Generally, the assets folder will be on the same level as index.php.[/quote]

Ok, thanks, I'd not known that. I've put it at the same level as index.php and it's picked up with:

Code: