Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CSS problem

[eluser]dianikol85[/eluser]
Hi to all. I'm new to Codeigniter. Ireally like it. So i have a css issue. I have a view header.php where i put this line of code

<link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php echo base_url();?>/css/style.css" type="text/css" media="screen" /> . but it can't find the style.css. The path is right.

Any suggestions????

[eluser]mddd[/eluser]
If the path was right it would find it... ;-)
My guess: base_url() is supposed to end in a slash (check config.php!)
So your url is now probably www.yoursite.com//css/style.css or something like that.

in the source code it generates http://ci-tut.loc/css/style.css ( i use virtual hosts ) which is the correct path. In the config file i set

$config['base_url'] = "http://ci-tut.loc/"; and also

$config['index_page'] = ""; to get rid of index.php. i also write the .htaccess to do it so it is correct.

Still nothing... i alse put the application folder out of the system folder. but i dont think this is an issue.

[eluser]mddd[/eluser]
IIf the uri looks ok, your browser has probably cleaned it up for you?
Anyway, you are not by accident rewriting ALL your urls are you? You should make exceptions for css, images etc. in your htaccess.
Otherwise a call to /css/style.css will be rewritten to /index.php/css/style.css and that will not work..

i just use the htaccess from the user guide. Does it need anything more?

[eluser]mddd[/eluser]
You mean this?
Code:
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond $1 !^(index\.php|images|robots\.txt)
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /index.php/$1 [L]

As you can see, this will rewrite any url that doesn't start with index.php, images or robots.txt.
So yes, a url starting with css will be rewritten and therefore not work.

You should add files/folders that should not be rewritten to the exclusions.
There are other solutions too, like excluding anything that is a 'real file' from the rewriting.