Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Integrating CI with non-CI resources

[eluser]tim042829[/eluser]
I've been a web programmer for 14 years. I've developed web resources from the ground up in
C,C++,rebol and newlisp and built web resources in python on top of a minimalistic set of resources.
My business partner and collaborator in many projects is primarily a perl programmer.

Because of the wide user base of php in general and CI in particular, I expect to find much of
what I have done in my own code base to be replicated in PHP in general and CI in particular.
Additionally, I am researching drupal.

However, I still need to ask the two following general questions and also a more specific question:
As for the two general:
<b>1)Is it possible to integrate CI with drupal?</b>
<b>2)What are the possibilities of integrating python modules with CI?</b>

On to the more specific:
One of the strategies that my partner and I have used to integrate our separate code bases is by
exchanging data (example: session state) via either text files holding json data structures or
by mySQL tables, either storage keyed by a session ID.
As I start to learn CI, I might want to consider my options in session handling based on the
narrative above.
<b>3)What session handling options (if any) should I consider?</b>

Any and all thoughtful comments or links to relevant discussions are welcome.

[eluser]danmontgomery[/eluser]
1) There is a Drupal bridge for CakePHP (http://drupal.org/project/drake), but there isn't one for CI that I'm aware of. You could pretty easily run CI and Drupal side-by-side (in the same way codeigniter and wordpress can run side-by-side), but running codeigniter apps inside of drupal may take some fiddling.

2) I'm not a python dev so I can't really speak on this one... Intuition tells me that you could run a python module as a script with exec() or any similar function, but I'm not sure that's what you're trying to accomplish here.