Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI total newbie topic

[eluser]keevitaja[/eluser]
Hello,

i just started looking into to the framework. My first one. Which lightweight authentication system i should use? I only need usergroups (admin and user).

Thanks

[eluser]Lucas Alves[/eluser]
Hi,

In my opinion, Ion_Auth is a good choice. It's very lightweight and well coded, so you can adapt it to your needs if you want.

[eluser]Phil Sturgeon[/eluser]
+1 for Ion Auth

can someone walk me through the installation of this Ion Auth. Readme doesn't really explain it to the first time CI user.

Just run the sql script and copy the files into application respective folders...

MySql Script:
http://github.com/benedmunds/CodeIgniter...n_auth.sql

The doc:
http://benedmunds.com/ion_auth/

[eluser]tkyy[/eluser]
just use your own, i linked a very simple one on my blog here- http://www.taky.bz/a-basic-codeigniter-a...ontroller/

in the constructor of your controller files throw this under the parent::controller(); line:

Code:
$this->userdata = $this->session->userdata;

which will load up the userdata and return it from the sessions table as an array for you to play with. and then pass the userdata down to the view in the functions like

Code:
$data['userdata'] = $this->userdata;

so you don't do multiple queries, you just grab it each time the controller loads. moving forward you can throw this into the controller under the first line i just gave you to make sure a user is logged in:

Code:
if($this->userdata['logged']!=1){ $this->session->sess_destroy(); redirect(base()); }