Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Converting my report system to a MVC pattern

[eluser]D_Williams[/eluser]
I'm new to both CI and MVC. I have a bunch of code going at work and I'm continually expanding on it. I've read a bunch about CI and I really like it. I want to start converting all my current code over to CI, starting with my report system.

My report system is fairly decent, but it has problems that I feel would be helped by CI (specifically form validation, authentication, and general formatting but there's not the point of this topic).

The basic synopsis of how my report system works is as follows: I have a viewreport.php file in my root directory that serves as the report engine. I have a "reports" directory with one PHP file for each report. Each file in "reports" implements a getReportHTML() function and a displayConfig() function as well as sets some report-specific config values. It's pretty obvious what these functions do, displayConfig() outputs a form asking for what input the form requires (dates, ranges, and so forth). getReportHTML() queries the database, does the processing, and returns (not echoes) HTML for the report's table and such. viewreport.php takes a report name from GET and includes "reports/<whatever report>" then runs the report when the config has been set, giving the user the option of displaying it in-page, downloading as PDF, emailing it, or saving it on the server.

I'm a bit caught up on how to implement this in CI. It seems like what I have now is a little bit similar to the MVC pattern, but not all the way there. I was hoping somebody could help me with a basic MVC structure for this project.

So far these are my thoughts: